Language and Societies

ANT/LIN 5320 at Wayne State University

Animals, babies, friends: Examining human-dog communication and its implications for understanding what it means to be family

Animals, babies, friends: Examining human-dog communication and its implications for understanding what it means to be family

Jayme Brown

Human-dog communication is a popular topic for researchers due to the ubiquitous nature of domestic dogs in global society. Infant-directed speech, commonly known as baby talk and used by parents to speak to their children, has been repurposed by pet parents to talk to their dogs in a related pattern known as pet-directed, or dog-directed speech. The dog-directed speech register, characterized by repetitive and high-pitched combinations of sounds, words, and questions has been used to build and reinforce familial bonds between dogs and humans. Using existing literature, various multi-media, casual interviews, and observation, this paper specifically illustrates how an increase in the production of dog-directed speech indicates stronger family ties between humans and their dogs. The use of dog-directed speech during interactions such as play, greeting, reuniting, and togetherness provided a clear correlation with humans’ inclusion of dogs as family, compared to not speaking in this manner. It was also determined that women engage with their dogs using dog-directed speech more often than men, while also treating their dogs like children. Formal studies provided conclusive evidence of dogs’ responsiveness and aptness to display affectionate behaviors when being spoken to in dog-directed speech and showed clear preferences in speech types used by men and women. However, future research should consider ethnographic approaches such as observing dogs and their humans together in natural settings to provide greater insights into the formulation and sustainability of human-dog kinship.

April 15, 2024 - Posted by | abstract

3 Comments »

  1. I think that this topic is super interesting! I am a cat mom so I’m speaking from experience with cats not dogs but I often find myself talking differently to my cat than I do to people and even going so far as changing my tone if I am upset with something she’s doing or am encouraging her to do something such as play or eat her food. A specific example is using pretty much only nicknames to address my cat but if I am mad with her I will use her actual name as though it will make her listen to me and stop what she’s doing. Obviously she doesn’t care or listen to me most of the time haha but I would love to read your paper to learn more about it!

    Comment by kayreimueller | April 15, 2024 | Reply

  2. Good job of scoping what could easily be a runaway topic. The relation between speech patterns and the special case of fictive kinship presented by inter-specific bonds appears to exist in several dimensions. I wonder whether the relation can be viewed in terms of efficacious speech: IOW, does it “work?” Does the dog signal its pleasure by wagging its tail, for example? Can the effectiveness of baby talk be measured by varying the pitch of a spoken message while counting the wpm (wags per minute)? I would ask my 15-year-old English Shepherd, but she’s sleeping at my feet at the moment.

    Comment by Daniel Harrison | April 16, 2024 | Reply

  3. This is such a wonderful focus! Your analysis of the dog-directed speech register brings a wonderful linguistic perspective to the human-animal bond. I would be really interested in reading the specific interviews you did and the proposals for greater ethnographic data collection. It makes me wonder about the different environments that dogs and humans find themselves in and how this may differ.

    Comment by Brianna LeBlanc | April 20, 2024 | Reply


Leave a comment